Allll the solo polyamory / ethical non-monogamy questions…

And so it begins… I’ve got to figure things out in my own mind, as well as figure out what to tell the people I know and love, who need to know about me now choosing to finally just be ethically non-monogamous, instead of acting monogamous and being unethically non-monogamous.

Here are the main ones that come to mind.

  • What does non-monogamy mean to me?
  • What does ethical non-monogamy mean to me?
  • How can non-monogamy or polyamory even be ethical?
  • What does solo non-monogamy mean to me?
  • What does this mean for my relationships with people?
  • Does this just mean I want to sleep around and not feel guilty about it?
  • Is this just a phase?
  • My partner and I were together for 32 years. We were committed and had a greed to be sexually exclusive. What makes me think I’m non-monogamous now?
  • Wasn’t my partner monogamous? She certainly acted like it, mostly.
  • What does solo non-monogamy mean for my social life?
  • What kind of partners am I looking for?
  • What kind of partners do I already have?
  • Do other people know that I’m ethically nonmonogamous?
  • What’s my ideal romantic partner/relationship like?
  • What about sex? Does that mean that’s all I care about?
  • What kind of relationship dynamics do I not want in my life anymore?
  • Am I worried about going to hell?
  • Am I worried about STI’s?
  • How am I going to keep safe, if I’m running around and having sex with all these different people?
  • How am I going to keep my partners safe, if I’m sleeping with a whole bunch of different people?
  • What if I change my mind in the future and decide to be monogamous?
  • What I consider getting involved with a couple?
  • Would I consider getting involved in a more committed type of relationship again?
  • Who’s going to take care of me? Does this mean I’m just going to be alone til the day I die?
  • I say I’ve always been non-monogamous. Does this mean I’ve been living a lie, the whole time I was with my partner, and earlier with my ex-husband?
  • If I wasn’t true to myself before in my relationships, how can I be sure that I’m being true to myself now?
  • Am I telling everyone about being ethically nonmonogamous?

I’ll be addressing all these, over the coming days, weeks, months, etc.

Because it all interests me. It allll interests me. And I’ve gotta figure it out, if I’m gonna be ethical about this polyam stuff, once and for all.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started